Saturday, September 15, 2018

SHG Radio Show, Episode 365

Welcome to this edition of Subterranean Homesick Grooves™, a weekly electronica-based radio show which originated on CHMA FM 106.9 at Mount Allison University in Atlantic Canada (but then expanded to distribution on other terrestrial and internet-based radio stations), and which is also distributed as a global podcast through iTunes. The show is normally programmed and mixed by Jonathan Clark (as DJ Bolivia), although some weeks very occasionally feature guest mixes by other Canadian DJ's. The show encompasses many sub-genres within the realm of electronic dance music, but the main focus is definitely on tech-house and techno, and a small amount of progressive, trance, & minimal. Due to the mix of styles, you may hear combinations of tracks that wouldn't normally be featured together in a DJ's live set, but this show is intended to feature various styles of electronic/dance music. Liner notes for this episode (SHG 365) can be seen below.

Para la información en español, vaya aquí.

When I make these shows, I mean for them to be a journey. I pay a lot of attention to the programming, and to the development of energy levels. If you're a first-time listener, you might think that the start of the show is quite tame, on the slower and "deeper" side of house or techno. However, give it time. Pay attention to how the styles change throughout the mix, and how the energy builds. Sometimes, I'll be very erratic and jump around between several genres, just for fun. Sometimes, I'll do a particularly dark show, with a heavy emphasis on techno. Most of the time however, you'll find a mix of mostly deep house or minimal or deep techno for the first third of the mix, building into a more upbeat section of tech-house through the middle, perhaps building up to some energetic tracks at the end, which often trespass into the realm of more contemporary house. Don't treat the show as a collection of individual tracks ... think of it as a cohesive experience; an hour-long aural journey of reflection and beats. And don't be shocked when I jump around between sub-genres of house and techno, to keep you wondering what will come next.

Here’s a link so you can listen to the show or download it from SoundCloud:

In addition to being able to download each episode from SoundCloud, you can also visit our DJ Mixes folder on Dropbox (which allows for bulk downloads).  That folder hosts hundreds of episodes and other DJ mixes.  Here's the link:

And of course, you can download Bolivia's individual tracks from this link:

Here are Track Listings for episode 365:

01. Bolivia & Francis - Dreamers (Original Mix).
02. Aitor Ronda - Tweezer (Original Mix).
03. Archie Hamilton - Confusion (Original Mix).
04. Darius Syrossian - Moxy (Original Mix).
05. Kinnerman - Horns & Hats (Original Mix).
06. Andrew Meller - Insomnia (Original Mix).
07. Township Rebellion - Moses (Original Mix).
08. Victor Ruiz - Voyage (Original Mix).
09. Olivier Giacomotto - Bipolar Star (Animal Picnic & Aaryon Remix).
10. Hidden Empire - Black Beauty (Original Mix).
11. Flug - Ego Games (Original Mix).

Here's a download link for the first track on this mix (click on the down arrow on the SoundCloud widget):

Subterranean Homesick Grooves is a weekly specialty EDM music show with a basic weekly audience base of about 1500 listeners per week through podcasting, direct downloads, and distribution on a small number of internet-based radio networks, plus another hundred or so listeners through SoundCloud, and an unknown number of listeners through terrestrial FM broadcast. If you're a radio station programming director, and would like to add Subterranean Homesick Grooves to your regular programming lineup, contact for details. We currently release SHG as an advance download to a number of stations globally on a weekly basis (at no charge), and we welcome inquiries from additional outlets.

We also have a file containing complete track listings from all of DJ Bolivia's radio shows, studio mixes, and live sets. The PDF version can be viewed from within your browser by clicking directly. Both the PDF and the Excel versions can be downloaded by right-clicking and choosing the "save link as" option:

View as PDF file:
Download Excel file:

Follow Jonathan Clark on other sites:
        Main Site:
        Music Blog: