Friday, September 17, 2010

SHG Radio Show Episode 027

Welcome to this week's edition of Subterranean Homesick Grooves™, a weekly electronica-based radio show presented on CHMA FM 106.9 at Mount Allison University in Atlantic Canada. The show is normally programmed and mixed by Jonathan Clark (as DJ Bolivia), although some weeks feature guest mixes by other Canadian DJ's. The show encompasses many sub-genres within the realm of electronic dance music, but the main focus is on progressive and tribal house, and a bit of trance & techno. Liner notes for this episode (027) can be seen below.

Para la información en español, vaya aquí.

By the way, if you're looking for DJ mixes in styles other than progressive/tech-house, check out That page has a number of mainstream/top40 dance mixes (the "Workout Mix" series), as well as some deep house, drum and bass, and other styles.

Here's our Podcast Feed to paste into iTunes or any other podcatcher:

Older episodes of the show are not directly available from our main servers anymore, to conserve space for more recent episodes. However, all older episodes have been posted individually on SoundCloud, and also in archives of 25 episodes apiece (convenient for bulk downloading) from DJ Bolivia's Public Dropbox folder. That Dropbox link also has folders for individual tracks and remixes, project files and stem collections for producers who want to make their own remixes, videos, and other material. You don't even need to have a Dropbox account to download files from it.

Here’s a link so you can listen to the show or download it from SoundCloud:

Here are Track Listings for episode 027:

01. Addy van der Zwan & Koen Groeneveld, “Gotta Move” (Original Mix).
02. ATFC, “Bring The Beat Back” (Original Mix).
03. Laidback Luke feat Jonathan Mendelsohn, “Till Tonight” (Chris Kaeser Remix).
04. Adam Beyer, “Filthy Lobster” (Original Mix).
05. Oliver Garcia feat Dilek Taskin, “House Wa” (Original Mix).
06. Quivver, “Boom Boom” (Original Mix).
07. Sultan, Ned Shepard, & Dirty Vegas, “Crimson Sun” (Adam K Vocal Club Mix).
08. Phunk Investigation, “Dark Floor” (Original Mix).
09. Radek K, “Water House” (Original Mix).
10. Jean Elan, “What It Takes” (Original Mix).
11. Marco Bailey, “Jungle Laps” (John Digweed & Nick Muir Remix).

More information is available on our Website:

This week's show marks a pair of milestones. First, I'm back in the studio after being on the road for four months. No more guest mixes for a while, while I catch up on a backlog of some great music that has been released over the last month or so. I'll still feature guests mixes occasionally throughout the year, but most of the time I'll be programming and mixing the shows myself.

Also, even more notable, this is the first episode of the show that I mixed using Ableton Live. Normally, I wouldn't want to consider using a sequencer when putting the shows together, because I like mixing the "old fashioned" way, on turntables or CD players. However, there's a big advantage in being able to use Ableton for some of the shows. It means that I'll still be able to put the shows together when I'm on the road, whether just on short trips while playing at shows, or for extended periods during the summer. Next summer, I won't have to rely heavily on the assistance of guest DJ's to keep the show going, and there shouldn't be any gaps in the publication schedule. Ableton is pretty powerful. This week's episode was just a quick experiment in using the software, to get my feet wet again, but I think I can put together some really strong sets for the show in the coming weeks.

As always, you can send any feedback or track suggestions to the following email address:

See you in a week!
- Jonathan Clark

Go to the Mix Downloads page on the main DJ Bolivia website if you'd like to check out a number of our older mixes, or visit our SoundCloud page for individual tracks and remixes.

We also have a file containing complete track listings from all of DJ Bolivia's radio shows, studio mixes, and live sets. The PDF version can be viewed from within your browser by clicking directly. Both the PDF and the Excel versions can be downloaded by right-clicking and choosing the "save link as" option:

View as PDF file:
Download Excel file:

Follow Jonathan Clark on other sites:
        Main Site:
        Music Blog: