Friday, February 12, 2010

SHG Radio Show Episode 005

Here we are with episode number five of Subterranean Homesick Grooves™, which is a weekly electronica-based radio show presented on CHMA FM 106.9 at Mount Allison University in Atlantic Canada, programmed and mixed by DJ Bolivia. Although the show will encompass many sub-genres within the realm of electronic dance music, the main focus will be on progressive and tribal house, and a bit of trance. The show is available for download directly from this blog posting, and you can also cut and paste our podcast feed directly into iTunes or whatever podcasting software you're using.

After I re-listened to last week's show, I noticed that it was kind of "dark." With so few vocals, it didn't really fit the style of the previous three shows, which had featured about fifty percent vocal tracks. I'm not saying that tracks without vocals are a bad thing - quite the contrary! But regardless, you'll notice that this week's show does feature a lot more vocal tracks, and is closer in format to previous episodes. Liner notes for this episode (005) can be seen below.

By the way, if you're looking for DJ mixes in styles other than progressive/tech-house, check out That page has a number of mainstream/top40 dance mixes (the "Workout Mix" series), as well as some deep house, drum and bass, and other styles.

Here's our Podcast Feed to paste into iTunes or any other podcatcher:

Older episodes of the show are not directly available from our main servers anymore, to conserve space for more recent episodes. However, all older episodes have been posted individually on SoundCloud, and also in archives of 25 episodes apiece (convenient for bulk downloading) from DJ Bolivia's Public Dropbox folder. That Dropbox link also has folders for individual tracks and remixes, project files and stem collections for producers who want to make their own remixes, videos, and other material. You don't even need to have a Dropbox account to download files from it.

Here’s a link so you can listen to the show or download it from SoundCloud:

Here are Track Listings for this episode:

01. Felguk, "Galaxy Traveller" (Neelix Remix).
02. Dimitri Vegas & Like Mike, "Salinas" (White Island Original).
03. Mirabeau, "Inner Love" (Mirabeau Mix).
04. Morgan Page, "Strange Condition" (Inpetto Vocal Mix).
05. Dezza feat Angel, "Never Be The Same" (Dezza Remix).
06. Cirez D, "Glow" (Original Mix).
07. Josh Gabriel & Winter Kills, "Deep Down" (Francis Preve Remix).
08. Da Hool, "Meet Her At The Love Parade" (Alejandro Montero Main Mix).
09. Chus & Ceballos, "Go On" (Paco Buggin & Joy Marquez Remix).
10. Second Left feat Soda, "Escape" (Original Mix).
11. Radek K, "Get Their Stuff" (Radek K Remix).

By the way, please excuse the extra audio at the 7:43 mark of the mix. It's not actually part of "Salinas," I just felt a "hangover" coming on ...

More information is available on our Website:

From now on, I’ll try to throw a few notes up on some of the artists or producers featured in each show:

Felguk (Brazil) - A production duo comprised of Felipe Lozinsky and Gustavo Rozentha. Lots of great electro-house productions with fat basslines and wicked beats. This duo has really blown up since 2006. For any local Atlantic Canadians reading this, Felguk is playing at the Paragon (the old Marquis) in Halifax on March 5th, a Friday night, and at Evolution in Saint John the following night.

Morgan Page (United States) – Definitely one of my favourite producers, especially for tracks in the past couple of years such as “The Longest Road” (featuring Lissie) and “Angels” (featuring Norah Jones). His new track, “Fight For You,” is huge.

Dezza (Canada) – Definitely one of my favourite local producers. Dezza (Derek Silvestre) is from Halifax, and has enjoyed recent support from DJ’s such as Tiesto, PVD, and many more. One of several local guys who is really putting Atlantic Canada on the map in the electronic music scene.

Josh Gabriel (the Netherlands) – Since the collaboration between Gabriel & Dresden ended almost two years ago (has it really been that long?), both Josh & Dave Dresden have been working tirelessly on new projects. Josh is now living in Amsterdam, and has been doing a lot of work recently with Armanda Music. To be honest, Josh was a very big inspiration for me a few years ago, and some of the unsolicited positive feedback that I got from him about some of my DJ mixes helped me realize that within a year or so, I needed to change my focus in life to emphasize music a lot more. I’m still in the middle of that metamorphosis, but looking forward to big things on the production front within a year.

Alejandro Montreo (Argentina) – a friend of mine from Buenos Aires, Alejandro did a great job remixing this classic track.

Paco Buggin (Spain) & Joy Marquez (Mexico) – these two producers continually impress me with their progressive & tribal productions. In fact, I love the amount of well-produced progressive house that comes out of Spain and Latin America as a whole.

Radek K (Poland) – I’ve known Radek for a few years now, and he has recently broadened his focus to expand from just DJ’ing, so that he now also spends quite a bit of time on production. Some of his recent productions are listed on Beatport, and you’ll be sure to hear more of his remixes & originals on my show in the future.

On a final note, if you go to our blog site, I highly encourage you to click on the link that lets you "follow" the blog, so you'll get a notice when new episodes of the show are released. Thanks so much for all your support, and here is a link:

Blog site:

Go to the Mix Downloads page on the main DJ Bolivia website if you'd like to check out a number of our older mixes, or visit our SoundCloud page for individual tracks and remixes.

We also have a file containing complete track listings from all of DJ Bolivia's radio shows, studio mixes, and live sets. The PDF version can be viewed from within your browser by clicking directly. Both the PDF and the Excel versions can be downloaded by right-clicking and choosing the "save link as" option:

View as PDF file:
Download Excel file:

Follow Jonathan Clark on other sites:
        Main Site:
        Music Blog: