Monday, October 24, 2011

This Is Our Dream House, Volume 01

A few months ago I was asked to play a deep house set in Las Vegas. I enjoy deep house, but I rarely play live sets in that style as a DJ. However, that show went well, and I got a phenomenal amount of positive feedback about the set after I posted it online. Especially important was the fact that Marc Carnes, a former room-mate of mine (and the foremost deep house expert that I'm close friends with) gave it his stamp of approval.

I was talking to him afterwards about the set, and I decided that I'd like to share more of this kind of music with my DJ fans. So I've decided to start creating a deep house mix series. It's going to be an ambitious project. I'm probably only going to release a new mix about once every two months, but each mix is going to be four hours long, suitable for an evening of relaxing and enjoying the music properly.

I've decided to call this mix, "This Is Our Dream House." That's partly because the mix is a variety of house music, partly because deep house is often dreamy, and partly because I found a really cool graphic with that exact title to use for the cover, courtesy of Sam Brown at the Exploding Dog website. As my regular fans know, I'm a long-time fan of his art.

For those of you who aren't normally into EDM (electronic dance music), you might be curious to know the differences between my regular style of progressive/tech-house and this deep house mix. Actually, there aren't always a lot of obvious differences, because I lean a bit more towards the techy side of deep house than the pure organic stuff. So at first, this might just sound a bit like my usual style, but slower. But that would be far from accurate - the deep house in this set can be identified by a few significant differences. First, the instrumentation is often jazzier, ie. there will be Rhodes or Wurli keyboards, more horns, brass, more clean guitar sounds, and more jazzy/bluesy vocals. Also, the tempo of this set is down around 118-120bpm, whereas my mainstream club sets are usually around 128bpm and my radio shows are usually 131-134bpm.

When I played in Las Vegas, my set was a bit disjointed, because it was a fairly last-minute booking and I didn't have time to get to know the music well. Programming is the most important thing when it comes to DJ'ing. Sure, mixing tracks properly makes a DJ sound better, but programming involves picking out good music to start with, and then coming up with a suitable flow. For the Vegas set at the Castles, I had good music, but my flow was fairly random. At least with this mix, I was able to think carefully about the order of the tracks that I used. Equally important, while I cut out a lot of the quiet sections and added extra drums for the Castles set (which seemed more appropriate for a live room), with this mix I'm leaving the tracks almost entirely unchanged except for a few select edits. You'll hear quieter passages in this mix too, not just the steady beats. But a side note for the audio engineers out there: I did compress the mix in Cubase at a pretty high ratio of 3.0, with makeup gain to bring it to -2 dB final, to give a more consistent volume for listeners in cars and other distracting environments.

This mix can be downloaded as part of an archive of all 6 of DJ Bolivia's older "This Is Our Dream House" deep house mix series, from the following Google Drive link:

The mixes (produced between 2011 and 2014) are compressed as a RAR archive, which can be opened natively in Windows.  If you're using a Mac, you can use a free utility to open the RAR (popular examples are "The Unarchiver" and the "UnRarX" app).  The password to open the archive is simply 'bolivia' and the size of the download is 3.1 gigabytes (each of these mixes are four hours long).  If you have problems downloading this archive from the above Google Drive link, you can email DJ Bolivia at for an alternate download link.

Additional information about finding any of DJ Bolivia's older mixes can be found at this link:

Thanks for your interest in these old historical mixes!

Here's a track listing:

01. Downtown Sober, "Feel" (Original Mix).
02. Tom Middleton, "Cicadas" (Maya Jane Coles Remix).
03. JUST2, "True Or False" (Original Mix).
04. Riviera Traxx, "Love" (Original Mix).
05. Jayden San, "Dreaming Days" (Hille Remix).
06. Sinan Kaya, "Sunset Glow" (Original Mix).
07. Timewriter, "Revealing The Sound" (Milton Jacksons Dark Energy Remix).
08. Master H & Alice Orpheus, "I Am A Drifter Who Can't Let Go" (Peaktime Perspective).
09. Addme Collective, "Lazy World" (Original Mix).
10. BK Duke & Yves Murasca, "Did You Know" (Karol XVII & MB Valence Loco Remix).
11. Inxec & Mark Chambers, "O So" (Maya Jane Coles Remix).
12. JML, "Into the Wild" (Peter Horrevorts Kangaroo Tool).
13. Huxley, "Take No More" (Original Mix).
14. Rauschhaus, "Wir Tanzen Immer Noch" (Original Mix).
15. Manuel Arce, "7 Reasons" (Satour Remix).
16. Marco Bocatto, "Streamline" (Original Mix).
17. Alvaro Martins, "Disco Speech" (Original Mix).
18. Chymera, "The Rumours Of My Demise" (Original Mix).
19. Valentin De Moreda, "Yeeeh" (Original Mix).
20. Tracey Thorn, "It's All True" (Martin Buttrich Remix).
21. Pat Foosheen, "A Year In The Life" (Original Mix).
22. Deep Mind, "True" (Original Mix).
23. Miguel Campbell, "Something Special" (Original Mix).
24. Lovebirds feat Stee Downes, "Want You In My Soul" (Original Mix).
25. Sinc & Daniel Sanchez, "New Day" (Original Mix).
26. Allan Zax, "Just This Night" (Morning Re Edit).
27. Maya Jane Coles, "Bubbler" (Original Mix).
28. Maceo Plex, "Can't Leave You" (Original Mix).
29. Milos Maricic, "Another Day" (Original Mix).
30. Onur Ozman, "Hypnotic" (Original Mix).
31. Kolokol Production, "Ili" (SoundSAM Pianokoly Remix).
32. Astraglide, "Inner Soul" (Original Mix).
33. Mario & Vidis feat Ernesto, "Changed" (Original Mix).
34. D8M, "Loveschr" (Original Mix).
35. Clockwork CW, "Its You Again" (Lee Foss Meets Robert James Remix).
36. Master H & Geoffrey Secco, "Stabs Call" (Jam Remix).
37. Kitar, "A Good Day" (Ivan Sanchez ES Remix).
38. Teva, "I Wanna Be" (Original Mix).
39. Yordee Lucero, "Situacio Personal" (Original Mix).
40. Luis Moralez, "The Prophecy" (Original Mix).
41. Andrey Ultravision, "Red Sunset" (Original Mix).
42. Luca Marano, "Oh Set Me Free" (Jef K & Gwen Maze Remix).
43. Mateo Ochoa & Brayan Sanchez, "Sex On The Beach" (Original Mix).

Share this mix around on Facebook if you like it. Show me that there's a good audience for this kind of mix! And click here if you'd go to my DJ Mixes page, which has hundreds of mixes for free download. Thanks ...

        Main Site:
        Music Blog: